Leave a comment

40th Year Reading Challenge

I’m 40 in about 2 weeks and I’ve noticed I’m behind ina few series and keep seeing books I fancy sooo….I’m going to set myself a reading Challenge for my 40th Year, 14 books. As I have already started on the first one it should be doable. More importantly I’ll have caught up on some series in tiem for George RR Martin to have got his next mammoth tome out…I’ve included no management/military/history books because you know what I’ll devour them as I go.

  1. Victory of Eagles Naomi Novik – the 5th in the alternate/fantasy history Napoleonic Dragons Temerarie series. Two chapters in and up to the normal rollicking good standards. We discussed it on the Dissecting Worlds here.
  2. The Heroes Joe Abercrombie – well I enjoyed the first law trilogy and have jumped ahead and read ‘Red Country’ and have this on a lend so why not?
  3. The Air War Adrian Tchaikovsky  – 8th (yes 8th!) in the Shadows of the Apt series. Ably described by Wikipedia as The series is set in a hypothetical universe populated by different kinden. Each kinden is a fictional race of humans, named after (and having certain characteristics of) an insect. Kinden are typically divided into two categories : Apt and Inapt. The Apt do not have magical abilities, but are able to understand, use and design mechanical devices. The Inapt have varying amounts of magical abilities, but cannot use mechanical devices, even those as simple as latches. The series focuses on the attempted conquest of the lowlands by the Wasp-kinden empire. We’ve mentioned it on Dissecting Worlds but never done it justice – the first book was reviewed by Comic Book Outsiders and they talked to the author here.
  4. Skirting the Boundary Isabella Duncan – I have a daughter and I love cricket. As such I have started following the women’s game more and on TMS coverage of the Women’s Ashes heard an interview with the author. The topic of women’s cricket casts so much light not only on cricket but also changes in society at large I really fancy reading this.
  5. Tongues of Serpents Naomi Novik – the 6th in the alternate/fantasy history Napoleonic Dragons Temerarie series.
  6. Cold Print Ramsay Campbell – a fairly comprehensive of the Lovecraftian work of Wallasey based horror supremo Ramsay Campbell. May have read it as a teenager, can’t be sure – time for a re-read if so.
  7. Warmaster’s Gate Adrian Tchaikovsky  – 9th in the Shadows of the Apt series
  8. Gridlinked Neal Asher – a listener to Dissecting Worlds suggested Neal Asher to me and I’ve never got round to it so let this be the year.
  9. Taliban Cricket Club Timerai .N. Murari –  a novel in which the Taliban flirt with forming an Afghan Cricket Team. Given how much I enjoyed the documentary on the Afghan cricket team BBC4 I’ll be interested to see this fictional take.
  10. The Books of Blood Clive Barker (the first omnibus) – sometimes the mere descriptions of Clive Barker’s work makes me queasy. However so many people I respect like his work I think I have to give it a go.
  11. Crucible of Gold Naomi Novik – the7th in the alternate/fantasy history Napoleonic Dragons Temerarie series.
  12. Only the Ball Was White: A History of Legendary Black Players and All-Black Professional Teams Robert W. Petersen – recommended to me when discussing the play Fences that Dave Montieth of Geek  Syndicate has understudied in. A history of the race in baseball.
  13. Feersum Endijnn by Iain M Banks – given his recentl passing I have to have one Banks book there and this one intrigues me as it’s SF but not ‘The Culture.’
  14. Nightmare at 20,000 ft anthology Richard Matheson – I love I am Legend but haven’t followed up any of this other material – time to do so.
Leave a Reply

