2 Comments

#RPGADAY 24 Humour

I’ve had some great fun playing humour games – Toon & Paranoia mainly in my teenage years. Somethings I think humour can overtake a games so any dramatic tension leaks out this was the case with a pulp SF game I played in university that graduated towards the silky.

I think my preferred humour in RPGs is the spontaneous humour that comes out of characters , players or situations at the table – a few examples

  • A relative newbie asking if all parties are as incompetent & blundering as my Thursday night party generating a lot of fun discussion.
  • My Monday groups good humour in dealing with opaque and frustrating scenarios ‘ the Sunfire heart’ ( “ and at some point someone playing this – for it is his fault , said PG Emery you should get this published.
  • The way the relationships blossomed between the pink gins & Googlies girls
  • The ‘knowing winks’ the players made about Jean the lady aristocrat masquerading as a man when their characters were oblivious.

I find in this way the humour adds rather than detracts from the game.

2 comments on “#RPGADAY 24 Humour

  1. Your comment is awaiting moderation.
    I would agree. Humour occurring around the table as people interact is the best. Forced humour is the worst. I find it interesting that some of the funniest times I’ve had in games have been in full-on horror scenarios – the humour was a vital safety valve for the tension.
    (Commenting on random post in response to your RPGaDay2020 “favour” post).

Leave a comment